S.W. Baron Dissertation Award

Salo Wittmayer Baron Dissertation Award in Jewish Studies

Salo Wittmayer BaronThe Salo Wittmayer Baron Dissertation Award in Jewish Studies is made possible by a generous gift from Dr. Shoshana B. Tancer and Robert S. Tancer z"l. Named for Shoshana Tancer’s father, Professor Salo Wittmayer Baron, the most important Jewish historian in the 20th century, the award is given to the best dissertation in the field of Jewish History and Culture in the Americas. A $5,000 award is granted every three years. Competition is open to all graduate students enrolled in universities in the United States. Dissertations completed at U.S. universities since the previous award was granted are eligible for submission. Dissertations currently eligilbe for submission, must be completed and accepted between June 2018 and May 2021.

applicants should download and complete the cover sheet, and along with it, submit:

  • a letter of nomination from the dissertation’s advisor
  • a statement of application by the dissertation’s author, summarizing the contribution of the dissertation to Jewish History and Culture of the Americas, including applicant name
  • a hard copy of the dissertation mailed to the address below
  • a digital copy of the dissertation to Lisa.Kaplan@asu.edu (subject line: Baron Dissertation Award Application)

printed materials should be sent to:
Salo Wittmayer Baron Dissertation Award
c/o ASU Jewish Studies
PO Box 874302
Tempe, AZ 85287-4302

Application must be received by May 30, 2021 | Awarded in Fall 2021

Salo Wittmayer Baron Dissertation Award in Jewish Studies Recipients

2012 | David Koffman New York University
"The Jews' Indian: Native Americans in the Jewish Imagination and Experience, 1850-1950”

2015 | Zev Eleff Brandeis University
“Power, Pulpits and Pews: Religious Authority and the Formation of American Judaism, 1816-1885”

2018 | Geraldine Gudefin Brandeis University
“The Civil  and Religious Worlds of Marriage and Divorce: Russian Jewish Immigrants in France and the United States, 1881–1939”